Steven Knight’s new drama This Town to feature music from Celeste, Gregory Porter, Olivia Dean, Ray Laurél, Sekou and Self Esteem

27 February 2024

Each artist has recorded a cover version to play over the end credits of an episode of the eagerly awaited new drama

The BBC has announced that six leading contemporary artists – Celeste, Gregory Porter, Olivia Dean, Ray Laurél, Sekou and Self Esteem – have recorded music to feature across Steven Knight’s (Peaky Blinders, SAS Rogue Heroes) eagerly awaited new drama This Town. Made by Kudos and Nebulastar for the BBC, This Town is the story of an extended family and a group of young people who are drawn into an explosive and thrilling music scene in the Midlands in the 1980s.

Each artist has recorded a cover version to play over the end credits of an episode. The songs, which will be announced at a later date, include both timeless classics and the iconic hits of the era.

Produced by Kudos (a Banijay UK company) and Nebulastar for the BBC, co-produced with Mercury Studios, in association with Kudos North and Stigma Films, This Town opens in 1981 at a moment of huge social tension and unrest. Against this backdrop, it tells the story of a group of young people fighting to choose their own paths in life, each in need of the second chance that music offers. It was filmed on location in the Birmingham area, and at Steven Knight’s new Digbeth Loc. Film and TV Studios.

This Town stars an exciting cast including Michelle Dockery, Nicholas Pinnock and David Dawson along rising talent including Levi Brown (Loss and Return), Jordan Bolger (The Woman King, The Book of Boba Fett), Ben Rose (Line of Duty, The Innocents) and Eve Austin (You, Our Ladies). Geraldine James (Back To Life, Anne with an E), Peter McDonald (The Batman, Dublin Murders), Freya Parks (The School of Good and Evil, Here We Go), Shyvonne Ahmmad (Annika, Karen Pirie), John Heffernan (Dracula, The Pursuit of Love), Stefan Asante-Boateng (Coronation Street, Suffering), Séainín Brennan (The Fall, Hidden), George Somner (This Is Going To Hurt, Sex Education) and Brendan Gibson (Peaky Blinders, Mr Selfridge) will also feature in the series.

The series is co-produced with Mercury Studios (part of the Universal Music Group) who have helped create the musical backdrop for Knight’s incredible story. Acclaimed producer Dan Carey, Brit and Mercury nominated musician, novelist and poet Kae Tempest, and singer-songwriter ESKA have written the songs performed by the band in the series.

This Town is created, written and executive produced by Steven Knight. It is directed by Paul Whittington and produced by Tim Whitby and Charlotte Surtees. Executive Producers are Karen Wilson, Katie McAleese and Martin Haines for Kudos, and Jo McClellan for the BBC. Matthew James Wilkinson (Stigma Films), Nick Angel and Laura Conway (Kudos North) serve as Co-Executive Producers, Alice Webb and Marc Robinson (Mercury Studios) as Co-Producers. Banijay Rights will handle international distribution for the series.

Click here to read full article